The Realignment, and official schedule released.

It’s been known for a while now that in the 2013-2014 season the NHL will have a pretty new set up. While we all waited for the NHL to agree to Olympic negotiations and then release the official schedules, the NHL decided to hold us over  with the release of the new Conference lists. This division readjustment has fans split on opinions. While most of us in Philly might not see this move as necessary, fans in other cities like Columbus and Detroit will be excited. Being the only 2 Eastern teams in the Western Conference the Red Wings and Blue Jackets’ schedules made it pretty difficult for their fans to catch most games.

Below the Divisions are simply lettered, at the time the names hadn’t been decided. Today the names of each division were released and are above their respective division.

PACIFIC, CENTRAL, ATLANTIC, METROPOLITAN

The chart above has been our guide to the realignment since the end of last season. The most visible issue is the uneven number of teams in the Conferences, 16 East teams, 14 West teams. This, again, fixes the schedules for Columbus and Detroit but it leaves a few problems for the West. What these 2 extra spaces seem to hint at, or at least what most people are guessing at, an 2 team expansion. The frontrunners for  expansion cities  seem to be Seattle, Quebec City, Hamilton, Kansas City and Markham. The problem with those options are that, unless the expansion is definite for Seattle and Kansas, they’re just going to be adding MORE to the East, which would make the Conferences even more lopsided. If that were to happen, a few teams would have to be moved back to the West, which just makes this whole thing pointless.

This new setup also means a slightly confusing vs. schedule and a confusing Playoff run, with less teams in the West. The whole Playoff Format is explained in this video:

http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/console?id=219899

Needless to say there are still some holes in the whole realignment. Other news today was the announcement of the official season schedules. the Flyers schedule you can find HERE. Or you can check it out below. The Flyers season starts on October 2nd against the Maple Leafs.

October 2013

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Wed Oct 2, 2013 Maple Leafs Flyers 7:30 PM    
Sat Oct 5, 2013 Flyers Canadiens 7:00 PM CBC, RDS  
Sun Oct 6, 2013 Flyers Hurricanes 5:00 PM    
Tue Oct 8, 2013 Panthers Flyers 7:00 PM    
Fri Oct 11, 2013 Coyotes Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Oct 12, 2013 Flyers Red Wings 7:00 PM    
Tue Oct 15, 2013 Canucks Flyers 7:00 PM    
Thu Oct 17, 2013 Penguins Flyers 7:00 PM NHLN-US  
Thu Oct 24, 2013 Rangers Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Oct 26, 2013 Flyers Islanders 7:00 PM    
Tue Oct 29, 2013 Ducks Flyers 7:00 PM    

November 2013

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Fri Nov 1, 2013 Capitals Flyers 7:00 PM NHLN-US  
Sat Nov 2, 2013 Flyers Devils 7:00 PM    
Tue Nov 5, 2013 Flyers Hurricanes 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Thu Nov 7, 2013 Devils Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Nov 9, 2013 Oilers Flyers 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Tue Nov 12, 2013 Flyers Senators 7:30 PM    
Wed Nov 13, 2013 Flyers Penguins 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Fri Nov 15, 2013 Flyers Jets 8:00 PM    
Tue Nov 19, 2013 Senators Flyers 7:00 PM    
Thu Nov 21, 2013 Sabres Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Nov 23, 2013 Islanders Flyers 7:00 PM    
Mon Nov 25, 2013 Flyers Panthers 7:30 PM    
Wed Nov 27, 2013 Flyers Lightning 7:30 PM NHLN-US  
Fri Nov 29, 2013 Jets Flyers TBD    
Sat Nov 30, 2013 Flyers Predators 8:00 PM    

December 2013

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Mon Dec 2, 2013 Flyers Wild 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Wed Dec 4, 2013 Flyers Red Wings 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Sat Dec 7, 2013 Flyers Stars 8:00 PM    
Mon Dec 9, 2013 Flyers Senators 7:30 PM    
Wed Dec 11, 2013 Flyers Blackhawks 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Thu Dec 12, 2013 Canadiens Flyers 7:00 PM RDS, NHLN-US  
Sun Dec 15, 2013 Flyers Capitals 3:00 PM    
Tue Dec 17, 2013 Capitals Flyers 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Thu Dec 19, 2013 Blue Jackets Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Dec 21, 2013 Flyers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM    
Mon Dec 23, 2013 Wild Flyers 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Sat Dec 28, 2013 Flyers Oilers 10:00 PM CBC  
Mon Dec 30, 2013 Flyers Canucks 10:00 PM    
Tue Dec 31, 2013 Flyers Flames 9:00 PM    

January 2014

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Thu Jan 2, 2014 Flyers Avalanche 9:00 PM    
Sat Jan 4, 2014 Flyers Coyotes 8:00 PM    
Tue Jan 7, 2014 Flyers Devils 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Wed Jan 8, 2014 Canadiens Flyers 7:30 PM RDS  
Sat Jan 11, 2014 Lightning Flyers 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Sun Jan 12, 2014 Flyers Rangers 7:00 PM NBCSN  
Tue Jan 14, 2014 Flyers Sabres 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Thu Jan 16, 2014 Predators Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Jan 18, 2014 Islanders Flyers 7:00 PM    
Mon Jan 20, 2014 Flyers Islanders 1:00 PM    
Tue Jan 21, 2014 Hurricanes Flyers 7:00 PM    
Thu Jan 23, 2014 Flyers Blue Jackets 7:00 PM    
Sat Jan 25, 2014 Bruins Flyers 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Tue Jan 28, 2014 Red Wings Flyers 7:00 PM    
Thu Jan 30, 2014 Flyers Ducks 10:00 PM    

February 2014

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Sat Feb 1, 2014 Flyers Kings 4:00 PM NHLN-US  
Mon Feb 3, 2014 Flyers Sharks 10:30 PM    
Thu Feb 6, 2014 Avalanche Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Feb 8, 2014 Flames Flyers 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Thu Feb 27, 2014 Sharks Flyers 7:00 PM    

March 2014

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Sat Mar 1, 2014 Rangers Flyers 1:00 PM    
Sun Mar 2, 2014 Flyers Capitals 12:30 PM NBC, NBCSN  
Wed Mar 5, 2014 Capitals Flyers 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Sat Mar 8, 2014 Flyers Maple Leafs 7:00 PM CBC  
Tue Mar 11, 2014 Devils Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Mar 15, 2014 Penguins Flyers 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Sun Mar 16, 2014 Flyers Penguins 7:30 PM NBC, NBCSN  
Tue Mar 18, 2014 Blackhawks Flyers 7:30 PM NBCSN  
Thu Mar 20, 2014 Stars Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Mar 22, 2014 Blues Flyers 1:00 PM    
Mon Mar 24, 2014 Kings Flyers 7:00 PM    
Wed Mar 26, 2014 Flyers Rangers 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Fri Mar 28, 2014 Maple Leafs Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sun Mar 30, 2014 Bruins Flyers 7:30 PM NBC, NBCSN  

April 2014

 
Date Visitor Home Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tickets
Tue Apr 1, 2014 Flyers Blues 8:00 PM NBCSN  
Thu Apr 3, 2014 Blue Jackets Flyers 7:00 PM    
Sat Apr 5, 2014 Flyers Bruins 1:00 PM NHLN-US  
Sun Apr 6, 2014 Sabres Flyers 7:30 PM NBC, NBCSN  
Tue Apr 8, 2014 Flyers Panthers 7:30 PM    
Thu Apr 10, 2014 Flyers Lightning 7:30 PM    
Sat Apr 12, 2014 Flyers Penguins 3:00 PM NBC  
Sun Apr 13, 2014 Hurricanes Flyers 3:00 PM  

http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/console?id=219899

Advertisements

One thought on “The Realignment, and official schedule released.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s